These Were the Biggest Models and Designers on Instagram in 2017

Some of these winners are no-brainers

Kendall Jenner

Photo: Instagram

Kendall Jenner is the biggest model on Instagram, the app’s end-of-year data proves. Among her fellow models, the 22-year-old has the most followers, the most mentions, the most-liked photo and the most followers gained in 2017. Other It Girls like Gigi and Bella Hadid, Emily Ratajkowski, Hailey Baldwin, Ashley Graham and some Victoria’s Secret Angels follow closely behind on the lists.

However, the most-engaged category—which factors in the amount of likes and comments in relation to the user’s number of followers—is where up-and-comers shine. Julia Ratner (34k followers) and Mayowa Nicholas (49k) top the list, even though their follower count is much lower than Jenner’s or Hadid’s millions.

The data was based off of findings from January 1, 2017 through November 17, 2017, according to Instagram. Overall, the biggest users on the app come as no surprise, as Selena Gomez retains her top spot as the most-followed user (with a whopping 130 million followers) and Beyoncé’s pregnancy photoshoot takes the crown as the most-liked photo of the year (and ever) with 11 million likes and counting.

As far as the fashion world goes, the biggest designers on Instagram were also no-brainers, as household names like Chanel and Dior and celebrities like Victoria Beckham came out on top. Take a look at the full lists below.

Most-Followed Model

Harper's Bazaar 150th anniversary issue. @harpersbazaarus stay tuned…

A post shared by Kendall (@kendalljenner) on

1. Kendall Jenner (@kendalljenner) 83.7M+ followers

2. Cara Delevingne (@caradelevingne) 40.7M+ followers

3. Gigi Hadid (@gigihadid) 35.9M+ followers

4. Emily Ratajkowski (@emrata) 15.1M+ followers

5. Bella Hadid (@bellahadid) 15M+ followers

6. Chrissy Teigen (@chrissyteigen) 14.6M+ followers

7. Gisele Bündchen (@gisele) 13.3M+ followers

8. Miranda Kerr (@mirandakerr) 11.5M+ followers

9. Candice Swanepoel (@angelcandices) 11.3M+ followers

10. Adriana Lima (@adrianalima) 11.2M+ followers

Most-Tagged Model

gotta support the homies 🤙🏽 i'm so proud of @caradelevingne and Valerian was amazing 💙

A post shared by Kendall (@kendalljenner) on

1. Kendall Jenner (@kendalljenner)

2. Gigi Hadid (@gigihadid)

3. Gisele Bündchen (@gisele)

4. Bella Hadid (@bellahadid)

5. Cara Delevingne (@caradelevingne)

6. Hailey Baldwin (@haileybaldwin)

7. Adriana Lima (@adrianalima)

8. Barbara Palvin (@realbarbarapalvin)

9. Josephine Skriver (@josephineskriver)

10. Emily Ratajkowski (@emrata)

Most-Liked Model Photo

🍕🍕🍕

A post shared by Kendall (@kendalljenner) on

This photo, posted by Kendall Jenner on June 20, has over 4.5 million likes.

Model Who Gained the Most Followers

👀

A post shared by Kendall (@kendalljenner) on

1. Kendall Jenner (@kendalljenner): Gained 12 million followers.

2. Gigi Hadid (@gigihadid): Gained 8 million followers.

3. Bella Hadid (@bellahadid): Gained 6 million followers.

4. Chrissy Teigen (@chrissyteigen): Gained 5 million followers.

5. Emily Ratajkowski (@emrata): Gained 5 million followers.

6. Cara Delevingne (@caradelevingne): Gained 4 million followers.

7. Taylor Hill (@taylor_hill): Gained 2 million followers.

8. Ashley Graham (@theashleygraham): Gained 2 million followers.

9. Gisele Bündchen (@gisele): Gained 2 million followers.

10. Hailey Baldwin (@haileybaldwin): Gained 1.9 million followers.

Model with the Most-Viewed Instagram Stories

Tonight

A post shared by Bella Hadid (@bellahadid) on

1. Bella Hadid (@bellahadid)

2. Alexis Ren (@alexisren)

3. Emily Ratajkowski (@emrata)

4. Gigi Hadid (@gigihadid)

5. Cara Delevingne (@caradelevingne)

6. Hailey Baldwin (@haileybaldwin)

7. Ashley Graham (@theashleygraham)

8. Sara Sampaio (@sarasampaio)

9. Alessandra Ambrosio (@alessandraambrosio)

10. Taylor Hill (@taylor_hill)

Model With the Most Engaged Followers

These models had the highest percentage of likes and comments relative to their number of followers.

1. Julia Ratner (@dear.ratner)

2. Mayowa Nicholas (@mayowanicholas)

3. Paulina Frankowska (@paulinafrankowska)

4. Léa Julian (@lea_jul)

5. Presley Gerber (@presleygerber)

6. Kaia Gerber (@kaiagerber)

7. Yasmin Wijnaldum (@yasminwijnaldum)

8. Vittoria Ceretti (@vittoceretti)

9. Lauren de Graaf (@laurenjdg)

10. Selena Forrest (@selenaforrest)

Most-Followed Designer

Finale of the #CHANELCruise 2017/18 show in Chengdu, China.

A post shared by CHANEL (@chanelofficial) on

1. Chanel (@chanelofficial) 25M followers.

2. Louis Vuitton (@louisvuitton) 19.2M+ followers.

3. Gucci (@gucci) 17.8M+ followers.

4. Victoria Beckham (@victoriabeckham) 17.2M+ followers.

5. Dior (@dior) 17.2M+ followers.

6. Dolce and Gabbana (@dolcegabbana) 15M+ followers.

7. Prada (@prada) 13.5M+ followers.

8. Michael Kors (@michaelkors) 10.6M+ followers.

9. Calvin Klein (@calvinklein) 10.2M+ followers.

10. Versace (@versace_official) 10.2M+ followers.

Most-Tagged Designers

1. Dior (@dior)

2. Hermes (@hermes)

3. Louis Vuitton (@louisvuitton)

4. Saint Laurent (@ysl)

5. Topshop (@topshop)

6. Balenciaga (@balenciaga)

7. Burberry (@burberry)

8. Balmain (@balmain)

9. Chloe (@chloe)

10. Ralph Lauren (@ralphlauren)

Most-Liked Designer Photo

Happy birthday @davidbeckham we all love u so much x #specialday! X VB 🎂

A post shared by Victoria Beckham (@victoriabeckham) on

Victoria Beckham’s photo of her husband David has over 1.1 million likes.

Designers Who Gained the Most Followers

Karl at colette. #CHANELatcolette

A post shared by CHANEL (@chanelofficial) on

1. Chanel (@chanelofficial): Gained 9.6 million followers.

2. Gucci (@gucci): Gained 8.1 million followers.

3. Louis Vuitton (@louisvuitton): Gained 7 million followers.

4. Dior (@dior): Gained 5.9 million followers.

5. Victoria Beckham (@victoriabeckham): Gained 5.7 million followers.

6. Supreme (@supremeny): Gained 4.8 million followers.

7. Dolce and Gabbana (@dolcegabbana): Gained 4.5 million followers.

8. Prada (@prada): Gained 4.3 million followers.

9. Calvin Klein (@calvinklein): Gained 3.9 million followers.

10. Versace (@versace_official) Gained 3.5 million followers.

Designers with the Most-Viewed Instagram Stories

Thank you @justinepicardie for a great evening at #BazaarAwards wearing #VBSS18 x VB victoriabeckham.com

A post shared by Victoria Beckham (@victoriabeckham) on

1. Victoria Beckham (@victoriabeckham)

2. Dior (@dior)

3. Dolce and Gabbana (@dolcegabbana)

4. Louis Vuitton (@louisvuitton)

5. Calvin Klein (@calvinklein)

6. Gucci (@gucci)

7. Tommy Hilfiger (@tommyhilfiger)

8. Versace (@versace_official)

9. Chanel (@chanelofficial)

10. Fendi (@fendi)

This article originally appeared on Harper’s BAZAAR US.

More From

Fashion