What Loewe’s Creative Creative Director Jonathan Anderson Really Does In 24 Hours

200 emails, 6 espressos a day, 1 dog named Snoopy. Step into the hectic world of Jonathan Anderson

jonathan anderson 24 hours

6:00AM The first thing I do in the morning is have an espresso—straight up—and read the papers. I like The Independent, The Times, and Financial Times. I’m not the best at getting myself breakfast, but if I do, I’ll normally have toast and marmalade. I have a dog called Snoopy. He’s an English pointer. I’ve had him for about a year and a half, and he sleeps in the kitchen. Sometimes I’ll jog with him to a park close by, but I also have someone to walk him.

7:00AM I have a quick shower—I’m not a bath person—and then I get dressed. I’m fast because I wear the same thing every day: a pair of A.P.C. jeans, a nondescript white t-shirt, and a navy sweater. I need to have some sort of uniform. I’ve always got a bag, with a notebook and a phone charger in it. I have about 40 different bags from Loewe and J.W.Anderson that are in constant rotation.

7:45AM Whether I’m home in London or in Paris for Loewe, I always like to walk to work. I live close to our office in London, so it only takes around 15 minutes, and the hotel I stay at in Paris is only around five minutes away from the Loewe office. I’m in Paris a few days a week; I take the Eurostar on Sunday night and come back on Tuesday evening, and I pass out as soon as I get in.

8:00AM The first thing I do at the office is review the plan for the day to make sure we fit everything in. Then I usually have a catch-up with my assistant and go through emails. I get about 200 emails across both brands and have two different people filter through them. I’m more of a phone person, so I’d rather respond by just picking up the phone. I’m on the phone a lot. I have three iPhones—one is for J.W.Anderson, one is for Loewe, and one is my personal phone—but I don’t check them at home.

1:00PM I can have anywhere from six to 12 meetings a day. In the morning, I do maybe an hour of menswear, an hour of womenswear, an hour of accessories. I usually have lunch in a meeting, as I don’t stop during the day—I find it difficult to stop my work. I like anything from Whole Foods; sometimes I’ll have a rocket salad with tomato, basil, feta. I find that my biggest meal of the day is dinner. I’m a big cheese fan, so it usually has to involve cheese of some sort. I could binge-eat cheese—I love any blue cheese. Make it strong, make it deadly. I really like juice; I probably have about three or four a day. Orange juice is my favourite. I also have an espresso every two hours or so. I don’t have many indulgences. I suppose cigarettes are one; I have about 20 a day.

3:00PM In the afternoon, I’ll meet with other departments, like marketing, to discuss things such as new concepts we want to work on or what we’re doing in our stores. J.W.Anderson and Loewe are very different. There’s a rhythm to each of them. J.W.Anderson is more about being a social aggravator, whereas Loewe is about riffs on classicism.

jonathan anderson 24 hours

7:00PM I’ve tried to become more strict about leaving the office early, but recently it’s been later and later, sometimes close to 11pm. If I can get out at a decent hour, I like to have dinner with friends, particularly my friend Andrew Webster, who I’ve known for about 10 years. If I’m in London, I’ll go to the Chop House. Sometimes I don’t want to eat at home, and it’s nice to get out. I’m open to eating anything really, except I’m not too experimental with raw fish. That’s the only thing I find to be a little bit tricky. In Paris, I like eating at the Mini Palais. I tend to go to different places, but I can never remember the names of them.

8:30PM I live in a hotel in Paris, so I’m out all the time there, but in London I try to have more of a balance. I’m more low-key than people probably think I am. I have my fashion life and my personal life. Most nights I’m just home—I kind of shut myself indoors. I like red wine; occasionally I’ll have a glass, or a bottle. I like to take some time to sit on the sofa and read or organise or do some sketching. I’ll often have music playing. Sometimes I’ll listen to a song on repeat all night long—anything from Rihanna.

10:00PM I might have a treat at home at night, I’m a huge fan of chocolate in any form, especially Cadbury or a fondant. Anything hot and chocolaty. I watch a lot of films and a lot of Netflix. I like films that are really bad; cheap thrillers like Taken 1, Taken 2, Taken 3—anything where you don’t have to think. Not long ago I went to see Jurassic World in 3D and felt like a child again. I buy around 15 to 20 books per week, and I have two giant walls filled with them. I like to buy my books at stores; it’s easier sometimes to go to bookshops and find books you wouldn’t expect to. I like the tactile sensation of books, and I always try to uncover ones with imagery that isn’t so common. My favourite store is near the National Portrait Gallery. It’s very good because it has everything from British literature to art history. I’m a big fan of modern British art, so I buy a lot of art books. I really love this new artist called Magali Reus. I think she’s one of the most important young artists of the moment in terms of sculpture operating in London. I discovered her at the Hepworth Wakefield exhibition in Yorkshire. I also like to read. One of my all-time-favourite books is Orlando, by Virginia Woolf; I also enjoyed Dubliners, by James Joyce. Recently I read a book called Circle, by Ben Nicholson. It’s about the beginning of British modernism.

11:00PM I wash my face with Kiehl’s and brush my teeth—I’m in bed quite early now. I used to go to bed really late, but now I normally go to bed by 11 [if I am not working late]. I might put the TV on and listen to BBC News, but I always pass out before I’ve heard anything.

TOP PICKS FROM LOEWE

jonathan anderson 24 hours

Clockwise from top left: Ashley sunglasses, $690; Puzzle bag, $2,990; Sandals, $2,690; Barcelona bag, $4,650

Interview by Tara Lamont-Djite

More From

Fashion