The Academy Awards this year is a little subdued. Skits and performances were pre-recorded and the in-person event was split between Union Station in downtown Los Angeles and n the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood due to COVID safe distancing measures.

Despite the inconveniences (attendees have to wear mask unless the camera is rolling), this year’s Academy Awards made history: Actress Yuh-Jung Youn is the first Korean performer to win Best Supporting Actress for the movie Minari, and Mia Neal and Jamika Wilson (2/3 of a team) are the first two Black women to win in the Best Makeup and Hairstyling category.

Ahead, the full list of the winners of the 93rd Academy Awards.

Related article: 50 Memorable Oscar-Worthy Looks At The Academy Awards Over The Years

Best Picture

Winner: Nomadland

The Father 

Judas and the Black Messiah



Promising Young Woman

Sound of Metal

The Trial of the Chicago 7

Related article: Women Are Making History With The 2021 Oscar Nominations

Best Actress in a Leading Role

Winner: Frances McDormand (Nomadland) 

Viola Davis (Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom) 

Andra Day (The United States v. Billie Holiday) 

Vanessa Kirby (Pieces of a Woman) 

Carey Mulligan (Promising Young Woman) 

Related article: Carey Mulligan Shines In A Gold Valentino Ball Skirt At the 2021 Academy Awards

Best Actor in a Leading Role

Winner: Anthony Hopkins (The Father) 

Riz Ahmed (Sound of Metal) 

Chadwick Boseman (Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom) 

Gary Oldman (Mank) 

Steven Yeun (Minari) 

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Yuh-jung Youn (centre) in the movie ‘Minari’ (Photo: A24)

Winner: Yuh-jung Youn (Minari) 

Maria Bakalova (Borat Subsequent Moviefilm) 

Glenn Close (Hillbilly Elegy) 

Olivia Colman (The Father) 

Amanda Seyfried (Mank) 

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Winner: Daniel Kaluuya (Judas and the Black Messiah) 

Sacha Baron Cohen (The Trial of the Chicago 7) 

Leslie Odom Jr. (One Night in Miami) 

Paul Raci (Sound of Metal) 

Lakeith Stanfield (Judas and the Black Messiah)

Best Director

Women Making History Oscars 2021
Chloé Zhao (Photo: Getty)

Winner: Chloé Zhao (Nomadland)

Thomas Vinterberg (Another Round)

David Fincher (Mank)

Lee Isaac Chung (Minari)

Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman)

Best Original Screenplay

Winner: Promising Young Woman (Emerald Fennell)

Judas and the Black Messiah. (Screenplay by Will Berson, Shaka King; Story by Will Berson, Shaka King, Kenny Lucas, Keith Lucas)

Minari (Lee Isaac Chung)

Sound of Metal. (Screenplay by Darius Marder, Abraham Marder; Story by Darius Marder, Derek Cianfrance)

The Trial of the Chicago 7 (Aaron Sorkin) 

Best Adapted Screenplay

Winner: The Father (Christopher Hampton and Florian Zeller)

Borat Subsequent Moviefilm. (Screenplay by Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines, Dan Swimer, Peter Baynham, Erica Rivinoja, Dan Mazer, Jena Friedman, Lee Kern; Story by Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines, Dan Swimer, Nina Pedrad)

Nomadland (Chloé Zhao)

One Night in Miami (Kemp Powers)

The White Tiger (Ramin Bahrani)

Best Animated Feature Film

Winner: Soul (Pixar)

Onward (Pixar) 

Over the Moon (Netflix) 

A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon (Netflix) 

Wolfwalkers (Apple TV Plus/GKIDS) 

Best Documentary Feature

Winner: My Octopus Teacher (Pippa Ehrlich, James Reed and Craig Foster)

Collective (Alexander Nanau and Bianca Oana)

Crip Camp (Nicole Newnham, Jim LeBrecht and Sara Bolder)

The Mole Agent (Maite Alberdi and Marcela Santibáñez)

Time (Garrett Bradley, Lauren Domino and Kellen Quinn)

Best International Feature Film

Winner: Another Round (Denmark) 

Better Days (Hong Kong)

Collective (Romania) 

The Man Who Sold His Skin (Tunisia)

Quo Vadis, Aida? (Bosnia and Herzegovina) 

Best Original Song

Winner: “Fight for You” (Judas and the Black Messiah). Music by H.E.R. and Dernst Emile II; Lyric by H.E.R. and Tiara Thomas

“Hear My Voice” (The Trial of the Chicago 7). Music by Daniel Pemberton; Lyric by Daniel Pemberton and Celeste Waite

“Húsavík” (Eurovision Song Contest). Music and Lyric by Savan Kotecha, Fat Max Gsus and Rickard Göransson

“Io Si (Seen)” (The Life Ahead). Music by Diane Warren; Lyric by Diane Warren and Laura Pausini

“Speak Now” (One Night in Miami). Music and Lyric by Leslie Odom, Jr. and Sam Ashworth

Best Original Score

Winner: Soul (Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross, Jon Batiste) 

Da 5 Bloods (Terence Blanchard) 

Mank (Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross)

Minari (Emile Mosseri) 

News of the World (James Newton Howard) 

Best Cinematography

Winner: Mank (Erik Messerschmidt)

Judas and the Black Messiah (Sean Bobbitt)

News of the World (Dariusz Wolski) 

Nomadland (Joshua James Richards) 

The Trial of the Chicago 7 (Phedon Papamichael) 

Best Visual Effects

Winner: Tenet (Andrew Jackson, David Lee, Andrew Lockley and Scott Fisher)

Love and Monsters (Matt Sloan, Genevieve Camilleri, Matt Everitt and Brian Cox)

The Midnight Sky (Matthew Kasmir, Christopher Lawrence, Max Solomon and David Watkins)

Mulan (Sean Faden, Anders Langlands, Seth Maury and Steve Ingram)

The One and Only Ivan (Nick Davis, Greg Fisher, Ben Jones and Santiago Colomo Martinez)

Best Film Editing

Winner: Sound of Metal (Mikkel E.G. Nielsen) 

The Father (Yorgos Lamprinos)

Nomadland (Chloé Zhao) 

Promising Young Woman (Frédéric Thoraval) 

The Trial of the Chicago 7 (Alan Baumgarten) 

Best Costume Design

Winner: Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (Ann Roth)

Emma (Alexandra Byrne) 

Mank (Trish Summerville) 

Mulan (Bina Daigeler)

Pinocchio (Massimo Cantini Parrini)

Best Sound

Winner: Sound of Metal (Nicolas Becker, Jaime Baksht, Michelle Couttolenc, Carlos Cortés and Phillip Bladh)

Greyhound (Warren Shaw, Michael Minkler, Beau Borders and David Wyman)

Mank (Ren Klyce, Jeremy Molod, David Parker, Nathan Nance and Drew Kunin)

News of the World (Oliver Tarney, Mike Prestwood Smith, William Miller and John Pritchett)

Soul (Ren Klyce, Coya Elliott and David Parker)

Best Production Design

Winner: Mank. Production Design: Donald Graham Burt; Set Decoration: Jan Pascale

The Father. Production Design: Peter Francis; Set Decoration: Cathy Featherstone

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom. Production Design: Mark Ricker; Set Decoration: Karen O’Hara and Diana Stoughton

News of the World. Production Design: David Crank; Set Decoration: Elizabeth Keenan

Tenet. Production Design: Nathan Crowley; Set Decoration: Kathy Lucas

Best Makeup & Hairstyling

Winner: Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (Sergio Lopez-Rivera, Mia Neal, Jamika Wilson)

Emma (Marese Langan, Laura Allen, Claudia Stolze)

Hillbilly Elegy (Eryn Krueger Mekash, Patricia Dehaney, Matthew Mungle) 

Mank (Kimberley Spiteri, Gigi Williams, Colleen LaBaff)

Pinocchio (Mark Coulier, Dalia Colli, Francesco Pegoretti)

Best Live-Action Short Film

Winner: Two Distant Strangers 

Feeling Through

The Letter Room 

The Present 

White Eye 

Best Animated Short Film

Winner: If Anything Happens I Love You (Netflix) 

Burrow (Disney Plus/Pixar)

Genius Loci (Kazak Productions) 

Opera (Beasts and Natives Alike) 

Yes-People (CAOZ hf. Hólamói) 

Best Documentary Short Subject

Winner: Colett (Anthony Giacchino and Alice Doyard)

A Concerto Is a Conversation (Ben Proudfoot and Kris Bowers)

Do Not Split (Anders Hammer and Charlotte Cook)

Hunger Ward (Skye Fitzgerald and Michael Scheuerman)

A Love Song for Latasha (Sophia Nahli Allison and Janice Duncan)